Indigenous Land Acknowledgement: A Jewish Version

In Canada, as part of a path of Reconciliation with the First Nations people for the harm caused to them, many gatherings open with an acknowledgement that the land where we are holding our meeting, synagogue service or conference on belonged to First Nations people. Here is a version I wrote (see notes for full attributions of component parts) that evokes Jewish intention, Jewish texts and speaks to our experience as both an oppressed people and a people who currently benefit from the effects of colonialism in our country. 

I will be using it at my seder this year.

Let me know what you think.

 

The Acknowledgement can be downloaded as a pdf here:

Land acknowledgement

Full text is available at :

Open Siddur Project -Land Acknowledgement

1 thought on “Indigenous Land Acknowledgement: A Jewish Version

  1. Charles & Sandra Cohen

    I often find myself getting really annoyed when a public meeting is opened with an acknowledgement that we are standing on “unceded indigenous land.” It sounds so false, so self cogratulatory and self serving. First of all I don’t think any of the gatherings I’ve been to have had any native people in attendance. The words are empty and meaningless unless they are coupled with a plan to fix it. Do you see that happening any time soon?

    Asking forgiveness at a seder? If you know anyone who is indigenous, invite them. Then you can have a real conversation.

    Sandra

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.